Sunbeam Imp Sport - OUH 19M

David Sage
Club Member: Yes
Car Model: Hillman Imp

Sunbeam Imp Sport - OUH 19M

Post by David Sage »

Hi,

Just a not of introduction, my name is David Sage and I joined the club at the beginning of the year.

I have had two previous Imps, one when I was an apprentice scientific instrument maker at the imperial college in London and the other somewhere around the 1990’s. I did a fair amount of work on the first Imp and I think it was a mk1 version. Because I had the facilities to managed to skim the head and open up the inlet ports a fraction, that was long ago.

I purchased the Sunbeam on eBay yes, not a wise decision and I had it picked up from a small town in South Wales. Gentlemen stated that he had had the car running. Car had been garaged for nearly twenty years.

I have changed both master cylinders as there were locked and I have also removed the petrol tank and cleaned it inside and out.

Hopefully can install tank tomorrow.

Car came with a spare driver’s door, so I have removed the original door and may have some welding to do before with the hinge plates.

The original stromberg carbs have been replaced with a twin chock Nikki, my guess is that it is fitted with a standard camshaft.
Pog
Car Model: 1969 Super 'Betty'

Re: Sunbeam Imp Sport - OUH 19M

Post by Pog »

Welcome David, what are your plans for the car? Does it need much more work or just quick overhaul from being stood for so long? Would be great to see photos if you have them :D

Pog
Young Imp Members Registrar
Bobbycham
Car Model: Singer Chamois

Post by Bobbycham »

Welcome to the Club David , you'll find plenty of advice on here ,should you need it . JUST ASK .
How did you clean inside of tank ?

Where abouts are you based?

Bob Imp005
I am the most responsible person around, if anything goes wrong ,"l am responsible"
David Sage

Post by David Sage »

Bob,

Man thanks for the welcome it’s very much appreciated.