Non Locking Doors on Competition Imps

Information / Questions and Discussion -
Imps and Imp based Motorsport stuff from the olden days and current

Non Locking Doors on Competition Imps

Postby OldImp » Wed Oct 26, 2016 8:56 am

Hi
The passenger door on my rally Imp that I'm restoring has never locked, the handle just will not move forward into the locked position. I mentioned this problem to a friend who works on competition cars for a living and he told me that on competition cars they should never be able to lock. The reason being that they could do so in an accident and so prevent rescue.
I've been using Imps in competition for many years now and this is the first time I've seen this on a car and the first I have heard of it.
The mod is very simple to do. On the inside door handle mechanism there is a plate with a slot cut into it fixed by a rivet between the two outer parts of the lock and on the handle itself there is a pawl. Moving the handle forward pushes the pawl into the slot stopping the door from becoming unlocked. The resistance you feel when unlocking the door is you pulling the pawl out of this slot. To stop the door being locked simple drill out the rivet holdind the plate and turn the plate around and reattach. The handle will now no longer be able to move forward into the locked position.
I'm curious to know if this mod has been done on other competition Imps and whether other people were aware of it.
Bob
OldImp

Club Member: Yes
Car Model: Singer Chamois

Re: Non Locking Doors on Competition Imps

Postby The Nun » Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:15 am