Twin Dellorto Dilemma: flat spot

Information / Questions and Discussion -
Imps and Imp based Motorsport stuff from the olden days and current

Twin Dellorto Dilemma: flat spot

Postby renaldo » Sun Aug 07, 2016 4:46 pm

Guys, I'm a new member of the Imp club and I'm afraid I need some advice regarding the twin Dellortos on my 1970 Ginetta G15, 998, with R22 cam.

Runs very well, but a stubborn flat spot continues to be a problem, at about 3700 rpm

I'm no Dellorto expert, but I'm thinking the jetting on my car may need some fettling.

I've looked at the pump jets and they are 40s, which as I understand it is pretty high for the size of engine. (I have Des Hammill's book on Webers and Dellortos.)

Wondering if it makes sense to try pump jets one size lower (say 38s) -- if the problem is bogging from too much fuel.

Or, if trying a pump jet size higher (42s), might help -- if the problem is too little fuel on acceleration.

Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Ron
renaldo

Club Member: No
Car Model: Ginetta g15

Re: Twin Dellorto Dilemma: flat spot

Postby Lotus-e-Clan » Sun Aug 07, 2016 7:18 pm

Forget the pumps for the meantime (I use 38 pumps on a 1040 which work well) until you establish you have the right emulsion tube (No6 for R series cams), idle and mains that suit the choke size (30's are best for torque).

If all is well with chokes jets and emulsion sizes then look to the mechanical ignition curve - get this wrong and you will have a flat spot off cam (publish your advance curve data too if you can) ....you also need to specify when the flat spot occurs - is it at part throttle opened very slowly of more at WOT opened rapidly?

Clan004
74 Clan Crusader 1040 Red 190 bhp/ton
Members & partners who like to knit go to http://knitowl.co.uk
Lotus-e-Clan

Club Member: Yes
Car Model: 75 Clan 1040 BVSSH GB72 mapped ignition twin DHLAs

Postby renaldo » Sun Aug 07, 2016 9:17 pm